Website Plan

I decided to do a plan of my website, as I wanted my website to have consistency yet showing a unique character through my choice of style, to reflect my character.

I first looked at some websites to get some inspiration for grids and layouts, as this was my first time making a website and I did not know the grid system.

From what I have gathered from this research is that it pretty evident that moving image seems to captivate people; this is something I would like to implement on my own website as it grabs the audience’s attention.

Logo

I had a meeting with my fellow peers and tutors and we were discussing on how we could make the website unique to ourselves. I decided that I would make my own logo that represents myself as a person.

website 2.jpeg

I decided to design some logos which were simple and packed a meaningful message behind it.

screen-shot-2017-02-03-at-11-24-43
Design Ideas

I decided to go with the idea where the ‘R’ is reflected as this showed mt quirky side in graphic design, yet still maintaining a simple logo to show all that. The ‘R’ and the ‘B’ fit hand in hand together as they both have a long edge with can sit beside each other quite well, which makes it look

logo
Final logo

I chose this as my final logo as I felt that it represented me best, as I write with a cursive font and I wanted the logo to have a handwritten effect to it.

Plan of Website

website-1

I first started off by making different layouts for the website. I looked at the different places I could place my navigation bar, as this is the place where people interact with the website.

website

From doing the first initial designs, I used that information to make a basic template for myself which can be implemented on each page of the web pages to create consistency.

Grid

Screen Shot 2017-01-30 at 13.29.44.png
Skeleton Grid

For the website, I had to work to a grid which had twelve columns as the skeleton I was using was made with twelve columns to make it responsive on different devices. I found a lot of difficulties while doing this as I was constrained to use the grid while making the website, which was too hard to comprehend with as I am used to being free to do anything in graphic design.

 

Final Layout

here is the final layout which I went through with.

I used the grid to help me achieve a consistent pattern on the website, as I didn’t want it to look a like a mess of items on the page.

I feel the overall layout is interesting and shows me as a person; from the landing page being quite fun, interesting and bold to the clean design of the website represents me as an individual who enjoys the aspect of work and play.

 

 

Leave a Reply

