Task 5

Task 5/1 – brief

Building upon what you have already done and learnt in this unit, take a book and visualise it as a hypermedia space, a blueprint of non-linearity.

BOOK COVER
One Hundred Famous Haiku

I started off by looking at a book that interested myself. I was attracted by the book, as the cover had many interesting lines and shapes, the book itself looked plain, and I felt that I could bring a different dimension to book. I wanted to connect the book to the outside world, through the art of design, without the use of words.

Research

type-magazine-eye
EYE NO. 15 VOL. 4 WINTER 1994
CCI29012016_2
RESEARCH

I had done some research before I drew out any designs for the pages in the book. I was inspired by one of the pages I saw in the book, which looked at words and how they displayed them visually. I like the different effects on the text they used to achieve this. In my designs, I want to use this effect along with solid colours, to show fiction and non-fiction in the way how the artwork is designed.

Illustrator Test

I started off by playing around with Illustrator to gain a better understanding of what I was designing.

Designs

I first looked at how I could structure the design as I wanted to create four pages. I looked at connecting the seasons in the book to the outside world, by making one coherent poster at the end, which connect with each other.

3 PAGE BOOK

I looked at this particular page for the reason that it connected with the outside world, as it mentioned about the previous capital of Japan being Kyoto. I then looked at Kyoto, and found out they have a lot of temples; I wanted to incorporate this into my design.

I sketched out designs that went with the theme of the page of the book and the information I had obtained from the outside world; that suited the design.

bg3
(no date) Available at: https://www.unitalk.ch/public/style_images/caja/_bgs/bg3.jpg (Accessed: 18 January 2016).

I looked at the outside world in the form of temples in the former Japanese capital of Kyoto. I also looked at the colours of the plants and trees in the season of spring.

These are the designs I have done for the spring page in my hypermedia space. I have incorporated the cherry blossoms, which was mentioned in the book, as well as a temple in Kyoto, in the form a 2D structure to emulate the building.

4 PAGE BOOK

I looked at this particular page for the reason that it connected with the outside world, as it mentioned a river, which I could look more into and incorporate some of the ideas I find out, and include it in my design.

4-th-page
Sketches for Summer.

I sketched out designs that went with the theme of the page of the book and the information I had obtained from the outside world; that suited the design. I wanted the environment of the river to affect directly the design of a page.

img_mogami01
(no date) Available at: http://data.yamagatakanko.com/english/sightseeing/image/img_mogami01.jpg (Accessed: 18 January 2016).

I looked at the shape of the river and made some sketched based upon this design. I also looked at what type of creatures live in the river, to incorporated this information into my designs.

I decided to design a frog on a lily pad, as I felt this best represented the particular page to the outside world and inside the book, as it incorporated all the ideas of the book, as well as outside the book; for example the Mogami River.

5 PAGE BOOK
Autumn Birds
6 PAGE BOOK
Autumn Kites

I looked at this particular page for the reason for different reasons, as it showed many aspects of Autumn in Japan. I first looked at birds flying in the sky, and how the there is a lot of rain in the Autumn season in Japan. I also looked at the kite flying in Japan, and how it links to the kite flying season in Japan in the Autumn season.

5th-page

I designed sketches for both of the pages of the book. I looked at incorporated the Japanese umbrella with birds flying on the kite. I also looked at kites flying in Japan, which connected with Japan’s flying kite season.

4282fd1e-f306-4d99-9cb8-6436780d5fac.jpg

Japan Kite flying festival in Autumn.

I decided to design an umbrella with birds flying on it, with different watercolour marks to show different kinds of birds, with the use of colour, I then repeated the design so. Therefore, it fitted in more together with hypermedia space of the other designs that I had done. For the second design I used a diamond shape, to emulate a kite, within those diamond shapes, I incorporated smaller or larger triangles to show diversity within the design, but still sticking to the format of the other designs.

7 PAGE BOOK

On the particular page, I look at the words they use to get an idea of the colours I should use, to best represent the page. On this page the particular word that I got captured by was the mountain; Japan are known for Mount Fuji, so, therefore, I wanted to incorporate this into a design of my work.

6th-page
Winter Sketches

Sketches I had done to emulate all the themes I wanted to cover. I designed the particular pages, with the intentions of including Mount Fuji, as it incorporated in the outside world to the hypermedia space.

I used the grey, and various tones of that particular colour, as the colour emulate snow best; I wanted to show the variation of tone at the top of the mount to the bottom of the mountain. The mountain starts of darkest as it is the segment with the most amount of snow to the lightest part, which has the least amount of snow covered on it.

Final Designs

 

the-seasons-of-japan-no-border-final-new-new
Connecting the season.

For the final outcome, I connected the season together to come up with one coherent piece of work. I used the same rectangle box in the middle of hypermedia space, to add clarity and coherency to my piece of work, so, therefore, the pages would flow together, and also directly interact with each other.

PDF’s:

Autumn 2nd design new

mount fuji winter no outline

Spring, page all whiteFrog

Design Summer new

Leave a Reply

